Mar(k): Travel, Hiking, and "Doing Good"

musings on our life of travel and volunteering

Aboriginal Artists from the East Kimberley

leave a comment »

A lot of my friends and readers were so interested in the work that I was involved with up in the East Kimberley.   However, out of respect to the Traditional Owners that I was working with, I have not written about their stories.  I do, however, have some really fantastic memories from my time up there.  Because the country is so striking, it is no surprise that the art is also incredibly striking.  So many of the TO’s that I worked with are also celebrated artists.  Indeed, Warmun is one of the most well known communities where celebrated artists find inspiration in their stories, the dreamtime, and the landscape that surrounds the small township itself.

So I was thrilled when I saw a website that has some short video clips highlighting some of the artists I have known, and have had some good laughs with.  I welcome you to check out the art and video clips of Ben Ward, a Mirriwoong man, and Gija woman Shirley Purdie.  In fact, I feel very fortunate that Shirley painted me the picture below that tells the story of Kilkayi, which is about the Barramundi dreaming in the country where I was working for her, and the other Traditional Owners.

Shirley proudly displaying her gorgeous depiction of the Barramundi dreaming (Kilkayi) story

Shirley proudly displaying her gorgeous depiction of the Barramundi dreaming (Kilkayi) story

This talk that features Churchill Cann also shows some of the magnificent country in the area.  Please do check it out!

Leave a Reply

